MACRA Final Rule Released: CMS Establishes 2017 as Transition Year for QPP

On October 14, 2016, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) released the highly anticipated final rule establishing the new Medicare payment methodology for physician services furnished under Medicare Part B, known as the Quality Payment Program (QPP), which will be effective beginning January 1, 2017. The QPP has two participation options for physicians: the Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) and Advanced Alternative Payment Models (APMs). While this new methodology applies to payments beginning in CY 2019, reporting for the first year of the QPP begins in 2017.

This presentation is a guide to understand the major components of this complex rule as well as a look at what changed in the final rule as compared to the proposed rule in a brief and easily understandable format. Read more here.