GAO Makes Appointments to PCORI Governing Board

September 25, 2018


The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) announced the appointment of seven new members to the Governing Board of the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI).

The newly appointed members are Kara Ayers, PhD, Assistant Professor in the Department of Pediatrics and Associate Director of the Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities at the University of Cincinnati; Jennifer DeVoe, MD, DPhil, Professor and Chair of the Department of Family Medicine at the Oregon Health and Science University; Christopher Friese, PhD, RN, Professor of Nursing at the University of Michigan; Trent Haywood, MD, JD, Senior Vice President in the Office of Clinical Affairs and Chief Medical Officer at the Blue Cross Blue Shield Association; Michael Herndon, DO, Chief Medical Officer for the Oklahoma Health Care Authority; Michelle McMurry-Heath, MD, PhD, Worldwide Vice President for Global Regulatory Affairs, International Clinical Evidence, and Strategic Operations for the Medical Device Companies of Johnson & Johnson; and Janet Woodcock, MD, Director for the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research at the Food and Drug Administration

In addition, Christine Goertz, DC, PhD is appointed to a three-year term as vice chair. The seven new members are each appointed for a six-year term through September 2024.


PCORI was established in 2012 by the Affordable Care Act and was charged with investigating the relative effectiveness of various medical treatments.


For more information visit the McDermottPlus Payment Innovation Resource Center or contact Sheila Madhani at 202-204-1459,

Previous Post / Next Post
beakernav X1E2BFA62-BFCE-43C1-B777-27E3E5216018medical bagoriginal analysis +external linkpdf downloadstethoscope