GAO Announces New MedPAC Commissioners and Chair

May 21, 2020


On May 21, 2020, the Government Accountability Office (GAO) appointed three new Commissioners and reappointed two Commissioners to the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC). The new MedPAC Commissioners are Michael Chernew, PhD, Betty Rambur, PhD, RN, and Wayne J. Riley, MD. Michael Chernew, PhD will serve as the Commission’s new chair. Dr. Chernew previously served as a Commission on MedPAC from 2008-2012 and was Vice-Chair from 2012-2014. Both David Grabowski, PhD and Dana Gelb Safran, ScD were reappointed to the Commission. These terms will expire in April 2023.

MedPAC is an independent congressional agency established by the Balanced Budget Act of 1997 (P.L. 105-33) to advise the US Congress on issues affecting the Medicare program. More information on MedPAC is available on their website.


For more information visit the McDermottPlus Payment Innovation Resource Center or contact Sheila Madhani at 202-204-1459 or

Previous Post
beakernav X1E2BFA62-BFCE-43C1-B777-27E3E5216018medical bagoriginal analysis +external linkpdf downloadstethoscope