

117th Congress: Leadership and Health Committee Membership

This document identifies key personnel that are relevant to health policy on Capitol Hill: House and Senate leadership and membership of the healthcare committees of jurisdiction. Noted below are the new and returning committee members, as well as those that lost reelection or retired at the end of the 116th Congress.

Кеу	
Lost reelection/retired	
New committee member	
Other	

House Leadership		
Majority (Democrats)	Minority (Republicans)	
222 Seats	211 Seats	
Speaker of the House – Nancy Pelosi (CA)	House Minority Leader – Kevin McCarthy (CA)	
Majority Leader – Steny Hoyer (MD)	Minority Whip – Steve Scalise (LA)	
Majority Whip – James Clyburn (SC)		

Senate Leadership		
Majority (Democrats)	Minority (Republicans)	
50 Seats	50 Seats	
Senate Majority Leader – Chuck	Senate Minority Leader- Mitch	
Schumer (NY)	McConnell (KY)	
Majority Whip – Richard Durbin (IL)	Minority Whip – John Thune (SD)	





Leadership and Health Committee Membership – Updated 2/4/2021

House Committee on Energy and Commerce	
Democrats	Republicans
Frank Pallone, Chair (NJ)	Cathy McMorris Rodgers, Ranking Member (WA)
Bobby Rush (IL)	Fred Upton (MI)
Anna Eshoo (CA)	Michael Burgess (TX)
Diana DeGette (CO)	Steve Scalise (LA)
Michael Doyle (PA)	Robert Latta (OH)
Janice Schakowsky (IL)	Brett Guthrie (KY)
G.K. Butterfield (NC)	David McKinley (WV)
Doris Matsui (CA)	Adam Kinzinger (IL)
Kathy Castor (FL)	H. Morgan Griffith (VA)
John Sarbanes (MD)	Gus M. Bilirakis (FL)
Jerry McNerney (CA)	Bill Johnson (OH)
Peter Welch (VT)	Billy Long (MO)
Paul Tonko (NY)	Larry Bucshon (IN)
Yvette Clark, Vice Chair (NY)	Markwayne Mullin (OK)
Kurt Schrader (OR)	Richard Hudson (NC)
Tony Cardenas (CA)	Tim Walberg (MI)
Raul Ruiz (CA)	Earl "Buddy" Carter (GA)
Scott H. Peters (CA)	Jeff Duncan (SC)
Debbie Dingell (MI)	Kelly Armstrong (ND)
Marc Veasey (TX)	Dan Crenshaw (TX)
Ann Kuster (NH)	John Curtis (UT)
Robin Kelly (IL)	Neal Dunn (FL)
Nanette Barragan (CA)	John Joyce (PA)
A. Donald McEachin (VA)	Debbie Lesko (AZ)
Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE)	Gary Palmer (AL)
Darren Soto (FL)	Greg Pence (IN)
Tom O'Halleran (AZ)	Greg Walden (OR)
Angie Craig (MN)	Greg Gianforte (MT)
Lizzie Fletcher (TX)	John Shimkus (IL)
Kathleen Rice (NY)	Pete Olsen (TX)
Kim Schrier (WA)	Bill Flores (TX)
Lori Trahan (MA)	Susan W. Brooks (IN)
Eliot L. Engel (NY)	
Ben Ray Lujan (NM)	
David Loebsack (IA)	
Joseph Kennedy III (MA)	



Leadership and Health Committee Membership – Updated 2/4/2021

House Committee on Ways and Means		
Democrats	Republicans	
Richard Neal, Chair (MA)	Kevin Brady, Ranking Member (TX)	
Lloyd Doggett (TX)	Devin Nunes (CA)	
Mike Thompson (CA)	Vern Buchanan (FL)	
John Larson (CT)	Adrian Smith (NE)	
Earl Blumenauer (OR)	Tom Reed (NY)	
Ron Kind (WI)	Mike Kelly (PA)	
Bill Pascrell (NJ)	Jason Smith (MO)	
Danny Davis (IL)	Tom Rice (SC)	
Linda Sanchez (CA)	David Schweikert (AZ)	
Brian Higgins (NY)	Jackie Walorski (IN)	
Terri Sewell (AL)	Daren LaHood (IL)	
Suzan DelBene (WA)	Brad Wenstrup (OH)	
Judy Chu (CA)	Jodey Arrington (TX)	
Gwen More (WI)	Drew Ferguson (GA)	
Dan Kildee (MI)	Ron Estes (KS)	
Brian Boyle (PA)	Lloyd Smucker (PA)	
Donald Beyer (VA)	Carole Miller (WV)	
Dwight Evans (PA)	Kevin Hern (OK)	
Bradley Schneider (IL)	Kenny Marchant (TX)	
Tom Suozzi (NY)	George Holding (NC)	
Jimmy Panetta (CA)		
Stephanie Murphy (FL)		
Jimmy Gomez (CA)		
Steven Horsford (NV)		
Stacey Plaskett (VI)		
Cedric Richmond (LA) (joined Biden Administration)		



Senate Committee on Finance		
Democrats	Republicans	
Ron Wyden, Chair (OR)	Mike Crapo, Ranking Member (ID)	
Debbie Stabenow (MI)	John Cornyn (TX)	
Maria Cantwell (WA)	John Thune (SD)	
Robert Menendez (NJ)	Richard Burr (NC)	
Thomas Carper (DE)	Rob Portman (OH)	
Benjamin Cardin (MD)	Mike Toomey (PA)	
Sherrod Brown (OH)	Tim Scott (SC)	
Michael Bennett (CO)	Bill Cassidy (LA)	
Robert Casey (PA)	James Lankford (OK)	
Mark Warner (VA)	Steve Daines (MT)	
Sheldon Whitehouse (RI)	Todd Young (IN)	
Margaret Wood Hassan (NH)	Ben Sasse (NE)	
Catherine Cortez Masto (NV)	Chuck Grassley (IA)	
Elizabeth Warren (MA)	John Barrasso (WY)	
	Pat Roberts (KS)	
	Michael Enzi (WY)	

Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions		
Democrats	Republicans	
Patty Murray, Chair (WA)	Richard Burr, Ranking Member (NC)	
Bernard Sanders (VT)	Rand Paul (KY)	
Robert Casey (PA)	Susan Collins (ME)	
Tammy Baldwin (WI)	Bill Cassidy (LA)	
Christopher Murphy (CT)	Lisa Murkowski (AK)	
Tina Smith (NM)	Tim Scott (SC)	
Tim Kaine (VA)	Mitt Romney (UT)	
Margaret Wood Hassan (NH)	Mike Braun (IN)	
Jacky Rosen (NV)	Roger Marshall (KS)	
John Hickenlooper (CO)	Tommy Tuberville (AL)	
Ben Ray Luján (NM)	Jerry Moran (KS)	
Elizabeth Warren (MA) (moved to Finance)	Lamar Alexander (TN)	
Doug Jones (AL)	Mike Enzi (WY)	
	Pat Roberts (KA)	

McDermott+Consulting LLC is an affiliate of the law firm of McDermott Will & Emery LLP. McDermott+Consulting LLC does not provide legal advice or services and communications between McDermott+Consulting LLC and our clients are not protected by the attorney-client relationship, including attorney-client privilege. The MCDERMOTT trademark and other trademarks containing the MCDERMOTT name are the property of McDermott Will & Emery LLP and are used under license.

